BEAF

Kicking off the summer. So glad I got tickets for the concert of Jóhann Jóhannsson at the Bozar Electronic Arts Festival in Brussels, September 2017. Jóhann Jóhannsson is an Icelandic composer, well-known for writing music for a wide array of media including theatre, dance, TV and films like ’Sicario’, ‘Arrival’ and ‘Blade Runner 2049’. Also performing live on the BEAF festival: William Basinski, an avant-garde composer based in NYC and Phew, a Japanese singer working in the areas of jazz avant-garde and experimental music. I’m looking forward to attending this festival!

Meanwhile Mr. Bowie has declared himself “very comfortable on the table”. He’s enjoying life and wonders how long it normally takes to get served…

Enjoy this beautiful day, my friends, wherever you are. Peace, love and understanding.

37 responses

  1. Enjoy the concert, Herman! Thank you for introducing me to Jóhann Jóhannsson. I’ll look him up. He has a very interesting background!

    Glad to hear Mr. Bowie is enjoying life, and it looks like he wants his cat treats, pronto! 🙂

    The cats and crew here all send their warmest regards to you and Mr. Bowie. 🙂

    • Hi Lavinia! Glad you liked this post. I really enjoy the music from Jóhann Jóhannsson. You can find some clips on YouTube (check out ‘Flight from the City’). My favourite music is his last album, ‘Orphée’, and the soundtrack from Arrival.

      Well, I joined Mr. Bowie with an espresso and treats for our furry friend… 😉

      Hope you’re having a wonderful weekend! Mr. Bowie says “Meow!” and sends his regards to everyone out there on Salmon Brook Farms!

  2. Wonderful musician – checked the YouTube! Thanks for the information……love discovering new artists. As for Mr. Bowie – he does look comfy but like he might be thinking about NOT leaving a tip for the server at his table – – – slow service = no tip! Perhaps if you sit down with him and enjoy the afternoon together he will forgive you!

    Pam

    • Hi Pam! Mr. Bowie gave me a beautiful tip when he left, a bundle of grey cat hair… 😉
      Have a wonderful weekend, my friend!

  3. Jóhann Jóhannsson has an impressive body of work. The samples I found have a nice modern/medieval sound to them. What’s with the wait staff around the house? Mr Bowie is waiting patiently. Don’t git the help a tip Mr. Bowie.

    • Mr. Bowie followed your advice, Tim. He only left lots of grey hair to clean up…
      The music of Jóhann Jóhannsson helps me to relax and chill. His last album, Orphée, is a real masterpiece.
      Have a nice weekend, my friend!

  4. You really enjoy a wide range of music my friend, sounds like you had a great time 😀 “little darling, the smiles returning to the faces” xo Boomdee

    • En gelukkig moet ik deze keer niet met de auto rijden. Ik kijk er echt naar uit. Jóhann Jóhannsson was live een tijdje terug nog in Hasselt maar door familiale omstandigheden lukte het mij toen niet van te gaan. De muziek van JJ is voor mij ‘de’ ontdekking van de laatste jaren…

    • I’m working on this well-known problem. Thinking about it right now while having my morning espresso… 😉

    • Thank you, Charlotte! I’m looking forward to that concert.
      Feel free to check out the latest album of Jóhann Jóhannsson, ‘Orphée’. You can see a beautiful B&W clip from his opening song on YouTube, ‘Flight from the City’.

  5. I am very thankful when you share a musician you enjoy. I always seem so busy I don’t have time to investigate who’s out there I might like. Today, finally, is a nice warm, sunny day without humidity and I am catching up on my non-school reading. the cats are all napping and I am recording some old Hearts of Space radio programs for my father for Father’s Day. I will be sure to listen to Jóhann Jóhannsson!

    • Hi Angela! Glad you liked this post and thank you for your interest in my musical taste. Sounds like you’re having a marvellous day, just like the cats… Hope you will like the music of Jóhann Jóhannsson!
      Thanks for hanging around all this time. Much appreciated!

Leave a Reply

