Flashback #16

The guardian angel. A few months ago, I heard a hard bang against the window and I found a stunned bird outside. Apparently, a sparrow flew straight into the window of my house. Mr. Bowie, a natural born ornithologist, was outside and checked if the little one was okay. It reminded me of a similar story years ago. I placed the bird in a box so he could reboot in peace and quiet. I kept a watchful eye to make sure no potential predator (the neighbour’s cat) swoop in for a quick lunch. After 5 minutes the sparrow was recovered and flew away safely.

No animals (sparrows or cats) were harmed, killed or eaten during the shooting of these photographs.

Enjoy this beautiful day, my friends, wherever you are. Peace, love and understanding.

76 responses

  1. That’s one lucky sparrow. They often don’t survive. Looks like Bowie gave it his blessings.

  2. Mr Bowie is so gentle with the bird, it’s incredible. We had a bird last week who kept attacking the window because he saw his reflection and thought it was a rival bird who wanted to attack his nest. We finally had to put newspaper on the windows to get him to stop as he was doing it all day and we were worried he would hurt himself (and it was also making us a little crazy….)

  3. Those are beautiful photos of Mr. Bowie and the bird, Herman!

    Wishing you and Mr. Bowie the Great Grey Protector of Birds a wonderful day filled with catnip, treats, dark chocolate and espresso! 🙂

    • Thank you, Lavinia! Hope you’re having a wonderful day. We had to stay inside because it’s was raining non-stop… 😦

    • Actually it think it’s so weird… Mr. Bowie did just the same thing with the little blackbird a few years ago. I’m sure my previous cat, Mrs. Jones, would think it was lunchtime… 😉

    • Yes! It looked like he was really looking after that little guy and was worried about his condition.

  4. Mr. Bowie, the Intensive Care Nurse, kept a close eye on the stunned sparrow. Bless him. He is a guardian angel for the birds and a “terminator” for mice! As it should be! Love the photos.

    Pam

  5. Oh I didn’t know that Mr.Bowie is a natural born ornithologist……. you should add that to his resume. For sure he is a very special carrying cat, even that doesn’t apply to a mouse, but that’s totally okay.

    • I’m so happy he doesn’t hunt the young birds in my garden. And deep inside I wish he would leave the mice alone but hey, he’s a cat after all! 😉

  6. That is the sweetest thing – to see dear old Mr Bowie gently nudging the little stunned bird!
    I’m happy the bird recovered with your care – and Mr Bowie’s of course. 🙂

  7. My visits to WordPress are motivated by you and Mr. Bowie…it is lovely to see that he is giving the little sparrow a kiss on the head. He is truly walking in the footsteps of St. Francis, eh? 🙂 As for our little band of merry cats, we fill up the frames on Instagram these days…if you come visit, you will see oodles of photos under bagheera_aka_bug!

    • Hi Christine! Thank you for your kind words. Mr. Bowie says “Meow!”
      I don’t have an account on Instagram (yet) so I guess I can’t see your photos. Bummer! Well ok, maybe it’s time I’ll give it a try…

  8. Amazing interaction there, caught on camera, Herman! I’ve seen videos about “‘predators” and “prey” animals being calm, even loving toward each other but this shot comes from “close to home” as we say. Interesting how social media allows me to think of you and Mr. Bowie as people I know, isn’t it?
    Anyway, thank you both for attending to the winged one, who crash landed in your world and received compassionate treatment. Blessings, Alia

    • Hi Alia! Thanks for your kind comment and hanging around all this time on HoB. Much appreciated!
      Mr. Bowie says “Meow!”

  9. I’m so happy Mr Bowie is kind to birds in your garden and that the dear little one flew off to enjoy another day. I love the birds that visit our yard, their songs float through the windows to put a smile on my face. We have a cool feeder and heated bird bath. It’s like stopping at a posh mountain resort with hotsprings in the winter. Perhaps you could tell your fine feathered friends about it Mr Bowie xo Boomdee 😀

    • That is so kind, Boomdee! Your garden must be a paradise for our feathered friends. I love watching the sparrows playing outside in my garden.

Leave a Reply

