A Good Friend

So many books, so many friends. I always like to have a good book around to read, it’s like having a good friend. Mark Twain said, “Good friends, good books, and a sleepy conscience: this is the ideal life.” Ernest Hemingway said, “There is no friend as loyal as a book.” I can only confirm that they were both right.
One of many reasons why I consider myself lucky is because I have another good and loyal furry friend. Are you waiting for a bedtime story, Mr. Bowie?

img_8438

Enjoy this beautiful day, my friends, wherever you are. Peace, love and understanding.

70 responses

  1. Happy times! I love it when I’m on my recliner and both of my kitties are sharing the chair with me! I can appreciate how it must be with Mr. Bowie joining you for a quite time.

  2. Our kitties love bedtime stories, especially cat and mouse thrillers. Spunk loves books — he finds they are quite tasty. Does Mr. Bowie have a favorite bedtime story?

  3. I love that image of reading Mr. Bowie a bedtime story, Herman! The Boys of Salmon Brook Farms love movie night, sitting on the couch and watching the DVDs along with us. So far the girls are not interested in movie night, probably because the boys are hogging the available spaces on the couch. So far, their favorite is the series Star Trek: Enterprise 🙂

    All the best to you and Mr. Bowie!

    • Hi Lavinia! Oh, how I wish Mr. Bowie had the same taste like the Boys of Salmon Brook Farms… I love scifi movies and series but Mr. Bowie hates it. He doesn’t like the sound of lasers, phasers and warp engines I guess… His favourite movie is the Pixar animation ‘Ratatouille’. He never falls asleep while watching it!

      Mr. Bowie sends his regards to everyone of the Salmon Brook Farms!

    • Dank je wel! Ik ben eerder een zomer-lezer, buiten ergens gezellig in de tuin. In de winter lees ik minder boeken. Ben nu meer in de studio aan ‘t werken. Ik heb nog een jaar tijd om popster te worden… 😉

  4. dood….wavez two ewe buddy; hope thiz message findz ewe N dad doin grate….

    ya noe; we lovez bookz heer two…in fact….R fave o rite oh all time iz Dr Seuss’

    One Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish…

    wunder why ~~~~~~~~~~ ??

    🙂 ♥♥♥

    • I really don’t know, David. Mr. Bowie always falls asleep after 3 pages…
      But he always loves to see ‘Ratatouille’, the Pixar movie.

  5. We are very fond of reading here. I do the reading and the cats all cuddle up. They like it when they have me pinned down and close by, especially on a cold and windy night like tonight. Maybe we’ll re-read “The Cat Who Turned On and Off”, one of our favorites.

    • “The Cat Who Turned On and Off”… love the titel and I’m going to check this book out.
      I love watching movies in the company of Mr. Bowie on the sofa. He always falls asleep except when watching sci-fi movies. He hates science fiction on the tv.

      • Lilian Jackson Braun is the author. She did a series of three books about a Siamese after she lost hers. Later in life she resumed writing them. They are very light mysteries and the Siamese help solve them but by doing cat things, not anything magical. They are fun, pure escapism, and that one is one of my (and the cats, I read out loud to them) favorites ..

  6. Good books and a furry friend- that is joy indeed! I am reading a book about a snail which you and Mr Bowie might enjoy: The Sound of a Wild Snail Eating. Hope you have been reading some good books lately!

    • So true, Julie! The combination of a furry friend and a good book… I can’t complain!
      Have a wonderful weekend!

    • Thank you, Mary J! Thank goodness Mr. Bowie falls asleep so quickly at my side. Every time he wakes up he thinks it’s time for a treat…

  7. First of all………you mentioned my name in your blog!!! Well, it was my name but it was attached to a human. Mom stopped and explained that to me. Mom likes to do lots of reading, but we both like to lie on the pages. That’s how we “help” her!
    Stereo purrs……….Hemingway and Steinbeck

  8. Glad to hear Mr Bowie joins you for bedtime stories. Blossum and Petals have their little blanket at the end of the bed, but they rarely stay there 😀 Blossum snores too. It’s a wonder anyone get any sleep time, ha! goede nacht zoete vrienden xo Boom

    • Hi Boomdee! Sweet dreams, my dear friend!
      Mr. Bowie says “Meow!”, from deep under his blanket in this cold night…

Leave a Reply

