Huff & Puff

Eat, drink and be merry. I developed a taste for good coffee and chocolate years ago, but it’s likely the result of genetic defects. The smell of freshly brewed coffee can be hard to resist. I can recognise good espresso and dark chocolate when I smell it miles away.

A cat’s nose is its most important organ. The world of a cat is the world of scents and odours. It is said that cats have a sense of smell fourteen times better than humans. Cats also use their sense of smell to detect the new treats you just bought.

“Let me in, let me in” cried Mr. Bowie, “Or I shall huff and puff and blow your house in!”

img_8380

We hope you’re enjoying a warm, happy holiday season. Mr. Bowie says “Meow!”

Enjoy this beautiful day, my friends, wherever you are. Peace, love and understanding.

 

65 responses

  1. I was thinking of your Mr. Bowie, really and I couldn’t find your notifications in my mail box, while I was trying to jump in your blog, I have recieved notification. Yes, there you are! How lovely and beautiful photograph, saying everything… Have a nice cup of coffee and new treats with you lovely humans. Thank you for being with us, Be sure you are special. And you know how much I love you all. Merry Christmas, Happy and Nice Holidays, Love, nia

    • Hi Nia! Thank you for hanging around all this time and thank you so much for your nice comment.
      I know you’re going through a very hard and difficult time right now. I wish you peace, joy and happiness, my friend!
      Mr. Bowie says “Meow!”

  2. Mr. Bowie looks serious there – “time for me to come in now Herman!”…….yes, those of us who are coffee/chocolate aficionados can pick up that delightful scent on the breeze WELL before your average nose knows. We are the fortunate ones! Hoping you and Mr. Bowie have a warm and wonderful Christmas Herman……complete with lots of good food and smiles.

    Love, Pam and Angel Sammy

  3. Mmmm! A good, strong cup of home roasted, ground, and brewed coffee a tasty chunk of chocolate! Now you have me thinking it’s time for a treat this soon after I finished breakfast!

    Of course, my kitties will watch me closely while I prepare this treat, fully expecting me to let them each have a sniff of both the cup of coffee and the chocolate, thought they wouldn’t drink one or eat the other.

    With luck, neither will sneeze and get kitty cooties all over the chocolate!

    (Can you blame Mr. Bowie for wanting in to verify your coffee and chocolate are suitable for human consumption???)

    • Haha… it looks like you’re having a hard time to fix you a delicious treat… Life can be hard for a human with cats! 😉
      Wishing you all the best, Doug, and a very happy ending of this year!
      Mr. Bowie says “Meow!”

      PS: I believe it’s time for another espresso… 😉

      • Thanks, and the kitty boys say “Meow” back! I hope you have a productive 2017 now that you have fine, new recording and mixing gear, and that we continue to be delighted by the antics of Mr. Bowie! I hope you have a merry Christmas as well.

  4. Wij wensen jullie ook warme, gezellige feestdagen.
    Ik weet dat het niet je favoriete tijd van het jaar is, maar heb net gelezen dat het gisteren al 9 seconden langer licht was. Nog even volhouden en we zitten weer in het zonnetje op je terras 😉 .

    • Dank je wel, Joke! Ik trek me daar al aan op, wetende dat het effectief (ofschoon nog niet merkbaar) weer langer licht blijft. De tuinmeubels zijn sinds vorige week verplaatst voor de winterslaap. Nog even en ik kan ze weer naar buiten halen… 😉

  5. Mr. Bowie, doesn’t your human know it’s not nice to tempt you with the smells of new treats and not give you some? Have you considered hiding his chocolate? 🙂
    All of us here want to wish both of you a very Merry Christmas and a peaceful New Year filled with special moments.
    Purrs and hugs from Pam, Hemingway and Steinbeck

    • Oh no…!! Please do not hide my chocolate… 🙂

      Thank you so much, my dear friends! Wishing you all the best and a great ending of the year. Mr. Bowie says “Meow!” and he was very happy with the new treats…

    • Thank you, my friend. Wishing you and your family all the best and a happy ending of the year! Mr. Bowie says “Meow!”

    • Thank you so much for hanging around all this time, my friend. I’m always enjoying your posts, especially the last one, Cat from Dinant.
      Wishing you all the best and a happy ending of the year!

    • Thank you so much, Sarah! Wishing you, Harry and the furry ones all the best and a happy ending of the year! Mr. Bowie says “Meow!”

  6. Merry Christmas and happy holidays with family, chocolate and espresso that can be smelled miles away. 🙂 Raise you coffee in a wish for a good year coming. And Mr. Bowie, happy cat treats to you!

    • Thank you for all these nice and heartwarming wishes, my dear friend! Much appreciated. Wishing you and your family all the best and a very happy ending of the year. Mr. Bowie says “Meow!”

      • A new year is coming and who knows what that means. But for now, it’s Christmas, and I don’t drink espresso, lol, but there is good coffee and all kinds of goodies around here. And there is the warmth of family and friends, so it’s all good. Warmth and love and peace to you, and Meow. 🙂

        • Enjoy the good coffee, all your goodies and the company of your family and friends (and MaChatte of course).
          Have a wonderful weekend, my dear friend!

  7. Good thing you live in a brick house… Right? Coffee and chocolate are the foods of the gods. No genetic defects from consuming either.

    • Mr. Bowie gave up after one time blowing (in the wind)… and was happy with his extra treat afterwards! 😉
      Wishing you, your family and the furry friends a marvellous and wonderful weekend, Tim! Mr. Bowie says “Meow!”

    • Thank you so much, my friend! Thanks for hanging around all this time. Wishing you a wonderful weekend and a very happy ending of the year!
      Mr. Bowie says “Meow!”

  8. No doubt, Mr. Bowie could blow the door down. He is a powerfully built cat! 🙂

    Enjoy all the espresso and dark chocolate you want Herman, nothing wrong with that! Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to you and Mr. Bowie from all the cats and crew here!

    • Hi Lavinia! Well, I let Mr. Bowie quickly inside before he started blowing down the door… 😉

      Wishing you, your family, all the beautiful cats and crew of Salmon Brook Farms a wonderful weekend and a very happy ending of the year! Mr. Bowie says “Meow!”

  9. Only got through the holiday preparations with coffee and chocolate. They were in the gift basket I dropped off at my vet’s office today, too. Merry Christmas to you and your family Herman, and of course the very special Mr. Bowie.

    • Hi Angela! Well, coffee and chocolate can get humans almost through everything what comes in their way… 😉
      Wishing you a wonderful weekend and a great ending of the year. Mr. Bowie says “Meow!”

  10. We hope you let Mr. Bowie in because he looks like he is all ready to begin blowing on the house. lol He is so cute and his color is beautiful, Mumsy can’t help but smile every time she sees his picture. She can smell good coffee and chocolate a ways off too. She is enjoying a good cup of coffee right now. We send lots of hugs and nose kisses for you both and hope your day and night are great. Pooh, Chancy and Mumsy

    • Hi there, my friends! Thank you for this nice comment. But it made me realise it’s time to get myself another espresso right now! 😉
      Wishing you a wonderful weekend and a fantastic ending of the year. Mr. Bowie says “Meow!”

    • Het is een troost te we weten dat de dagen reeds langer zijn dan vorige week!
      Ik was ook tevreden van de foto(‘s). Bowie bleef daar rustig staan poseren en gaf me al de tijd…

  11. What a cute picture of Mr Bowi :D. Little paw prints and nose prints is a kitty-cat specialty. My little goof Blossum had her whiskers in my eggnog a moment ago. I think we’ll all get good sleeps tonight, LOL. I guess you might be celebrating at a different time but I wish you Happy Holidays and Good Health for the New Year dear friends! Love Boomdee xo

    • Thank you so much, my dear Boomdee! Well, I guess there was a lot of good sleeping going on last night…
      Hope you, your family and the furry ones are having a wonderful Christmas day, my friend!

    • Thank you so much, Julie! Hope you had a wonderful weekend. Wishing you and your loved ones all the best and a fantastic ending of the year. Mr. Bowie says “Meow!”

    • Haha… Glad you keep finding Mr. Bowie and his human all these years!
      Wishing you and your loved ones all the best and a very happy ending of the year, my dear Sharon! Mr. Bowie says “Meow!”

Leave a Reply

