Turn Back the Clock

A trip down memory lane. Occasionally I do go “home” again, on a trip back to where I grew up. We sold my parents house four years ago. A contracting firm made us an offer we couldn’t refuse. The house was very old, uncomfortable for my Dad and the expenses related to maintaining the house were too high. My Dad still lives in a new cozy apartment in the center of town.

We loved our old home and miss its character. But I’ll admit, not only is the impressive modern building itself beautiful, it is also incredibly detailed. Nevertheless, I wish I could turn back the clock.

img_1262

IMG_0244IMG_4858

Enjoy this beautiful day, my friends, wherever you are. Peace, love and understanding.

48 responses

  1. I remember you sharing photos of your beautiful family home while it was still standing – sure is sad to see it just GONE but you’re right, the new building going up is attractive anyway. AND, no matter how much things change there, your memories of the house and growing up there are permanently in your heart.

    Pam

    • I’ll have to admit the building looks kinda impressive. But I love modern buildings in glass and steel.
      It made me realise one day my own house will be gone too, just like me… 😉

  2. this made me think of our home in the province.. i had a lot of wonderful memories growing up there with my grandparents.. it used to be the most beautiful and biggest house in the street.. through the passing of time, it looked like an ordinary old house now compared to all the houses there which are far more modern and bigger.. my mother gave it to me and i decided to sell it because of practical reasons.. i seldom visit our province now and none of my kids want it because it is too far.. i feel so sad letting it go but happy memories live on in my heart and mind.

    • Guess that’s the way life goes. We considered for a moment to rebuild the house but the costs were too high. And the whole area turned into an industrial park… It isn’t a good place to live anymore.

  3. I am glad your Dad has a comfortable appartment and doesnt have to worry about the upkeep of a big house. Almost Christmas holiday time! Gotta find our bathers, sun screen and santa hats. It is time for the beach! I am serious. 😄

    • Oh no, Sharon…!! I wish I could join you and go to the beach too.
      Wishing you all the best and a great ending of the year. Mr. Bowie says “Meow!”

    • Well, I have to admit I find it a beautiful and impressive building. But I would prefer to live in our old house, though… 😉

  4. I too have a house I am nostalgic for. We moved three times as I grew up and I never was really attached to any of the houses. The house I miss was my aunt and uncle’s out in the country. He had converted an old barn and there were many unique features. Years after they moved to Florida for retirement I went back to find it gone. There had been five acres/2 hectares and they put in an industrial park. Yuck. At least your house was replaced with nice living space.

    • Thank you for sharing your story, Angela.
      I like the new building but the downside is the whole area around it is turning into an industrial park, just like in your story. Guess it’s difficult to stop the future…

    • These are wise words, David. Thank you for your comment, my friend.
      But you are right, such a shame about the trees…

  5. Sigh, maybe someday, time travel will be as easy as brewing a Nespresso. It’d be fun to go back just a wee bit to when my cats where kittens. I rescued them at 6 months old, so I missed that. Your parents home sure was charming with that cottage look I love so much. It’s so nice that your dad doesn’t have all the work anymore though. One thing about houses, something’s always needing attention and/or replacement. Does Grandpaw look after Bowie when you’re on holiday? xo B

    • Wow… time travelling! I would love to go back to the early years of the Beatles and the Rolling Stones or wait a minute, maybe to the time when dino’s ruled the world! 😉
      Who needs a holiday with a beautiful garden outside to chill out in the company of Mr. Bowie? No thank you: all the stress, the waiting lines, the check points… I rather stay home, my dear Boomdee…

  6. I am glad your father is moving to a more comfortable. It is hard to see the old homestead go, though! Los of memories in that house, I bet. I got to see the old house I grew up in last February. The color changed, all the trees my mother and I planted have been cut down. A few changes to the outside, but my old friend still lives across the street!

    All the best to you and Mr. Bowie from the cats & crew of Salmon Brook Farms!

    • Thank goodness they left one tree standing, (the one on the right in the first picture). It’s a maple tree my mother planted a few years after she moved with my dad to their new build house. We really hope they leave it alone, it looks like it’s next to the parking lot. Fingers crossed…

      Mr. Bowie told me to say “Hi” to all the cats and crew of Salmon Brook Farms. He’s having a break right now while I’m working in the studio.

  7. I remember when you showed us the pictures of your father’s house. Going home again is to a building and/or a place, and also back into memories. Thanks for sharing this part of yourself with us.

    • Well, I’m always getting more emotional when the end of the year is getting closer and closer… And the days are too short and too dark.
      Thank you for your supporting comment, my friend!

  8. I too wish I could turn back the clock and find myself frequently distracted these days. I just looked up the definition of triumverate:

    tri·um·vi·rate
    trīˈəmvərət,trīˈəmvəˌrāt/
    noun
    1.
    (in ancient Rome) a group of three men holding power, in particular ( the First Triumvirate ) the unofficial coalition of Julius Caesar, Pompey, and Crassus in 60 BC and ( the Second Triumvirate ) a coalition formed by Antony, Lepidus, and Octavian in 43 BC.

    2. Trump, Putin, Pence or #notmyrulingparty 😦

    • Well, my dear Christine, I’m wishing you a very bright and good future although dark days are waiting for the world. But in the end the love for our cats conquers all! 😉
      Wishing you a great and fantastic ending of the year, my dear friend! Mr. Bowie says “Meow!”

  9. Wow. You know, may be your parents’ house had to go since your father found it difficult to maintain it, and the price was good too, but I mourn the loss of the trees, the woods that were replaced with the totally industrial landscape that is short-living because everything is changing. These buildings will be abandoned in 50 years, but the trees would still be growing.

      • Hope you are not too sad for that lovely, fairytale-looking house. Childhood memories are our treasure. It was heartbreaking when I visited my grandparents house, in ruins after a fire. I am also not going to visit my parents house anymore, because I don’t want to see the empty place – it was enough to see the empty hill where the ancient woods used to be, where I grew up. It hurts. I don’t like when nice things have to go and give a way to something that won’t last, but there are things beyond our control, and we have to think about people rather than things. Your father did what was better for everyone I guess, and the company would get that piece of land in one way or another, if they decided they needed it. So, some things just have to go.
        Hope you are well, cuddling with your assistant manager. xx

  10. My parents still live in the house I grew up in but building is going on all around, a business park now in open fields, two big housing estates with the houses built so close together there isn’t enough room for the children to play. Progress? I guess. We used to walk and ride our bikes 🚲 but now the roads would be too busy.

Leave a Reply

