12/06

The Holy Man. December 6 is the 340th day of the year (341st in leap years) in the Gregorian calendar. There are 25 days remaining until the end of the year. Today it’s Saint Nicholas’ Day. Sinterklaas is a mythical figure with legendary, historical and folkloric origins based on Saint Nicholas. Sinterklaas is celebrated annually with the giving of gifts on 5 December, the night before Saint Nicholas Day in the Northern Netherlands and on the morning of 6 December, Saint Nicholas Day itself, in the (Roman Catholic) southern provinces, Belgium, Luxembourg and Northern France (French Flanders, Lorraine and Artois). He is the primary source of the popular Christmas icon of Santa Claus. Source: Wikipedia

Unfortunately, I didn’t get any gifts this year. Guess I’ve been a bad boy. Mr. Bowie on the other hand received a gift from the Holy Man…

img_8363

Enjoy this beautiful day, my friends, wherever you are. Peace, love and understanding.

71 responses

  1. My gift to myself this Dec. 6th is a root canal. I am serious. Never more so. 2016 has not been a good year. For me, for the world. Let us hope (pray) that next year is better. I doubt it, but you never know.

    • Oh no… a root canal!!! The horror… the horror! Wishing you good luck, my friend!
      My year wasn’t so good either, I guess it can only get better…

  2. It will be much the same here when we celebrate Christmas. My kitty boys, Andy and Dougy, will get the traditional albacore feast for the holiday, and I’ll get coal in my stocking. I try to be a good boy, but… it gets harder the older you get!

  3. Looks like Mr. Bowie made out well and if you think about it Herman, you’ve received gifts from YOU to YOU all year long with the sound equipment! Take time out and have some chocolate to celebrate St. Nicholas Day…..and give Mr. B a hug from me. Sammy says “hi” from the Rainbow Bridge too.

    Pam

    • Thank you so much, Sarah! I’m a bit surprised you’re celebrating Saint Nicholas Day too… But hey, it’s all about chocolate in the end! 😉

      • I’ve been celebrating it since I was little. I used to leave a carrot for St. Nick’s donkey. 🙂

        Harry dresses up as a Luchador Krampus and has been in a Krampuslauf the last two years.

        • What a coincidence… The little children do exactly the same thing overhere: leaving a carrot and sugar cubes for the donkey (and a beer for Saint Nick’s helpers…). But I guess it was my Dad who liked the beer… 😉

          Harry dressing up like Krampus… sounds kinda scary to me…

  4. Interesting, I didn’t know that you are celebrating now Saint Nicolaus’ Day. We have today, the 6 of December our Independence Day, now 99 years. Nothing much, the president has a big party with famous people, ordinary people have demonstration against the parliament, against taking more refugees and against huge unemployment…
    Give a kiss to that handsome Bowie.
    Kristiina

  5. I would have sent you something Herman but the coffee and chocolate you have in Belgium is so superior it would be silly to waste the post. You have the best gift of all every day of year anyway, Mr. Bowie!

    • You are so right about having the best gift of all every day of the year. Thank you for this wake up call, Angela!

  6. You and Mr. Bowie have each other, the best presents of all! Wishing you both a beautiful Holiday Season, with lots of dark chocolate, espresso and cat treats!

    We woke up to snow here this morning. About 2 inches, but the ground is still relatively warm and it continues to melt even as new snow falls. The cats are enjoying watching out the windows as the flakes come down. A big December 6th “Meow” from all the cats and crew here!

    • Oh no…!! 2 inches of snow already… the horror…the horror! I told you before, I hate snow but Mr. Bowie seems to liked it every winter.

      Thank you so much for all your wishes, Lavinia. I hope you get a great ending of the year, a good health and much love!
      Mr. Bowie sends his regards to everyone out there from Salmon Brook Farms!

    • Thank you so much for all your wishes, my dear friend! Wishing you all the best for a great ending of the year.
      Mr. Bowie says “Meow!”

  7. You can always treat yourself. There has to be a chocolate espresso latte with your name on it and a special, catnip-laced treat with Mr. Bowie’s name on it.

  8. Merry and Happy Christmas to Mr Bowie, Herman and his family. That was very interesting to read about how Christmas is done in different parts of the World. A Christmas in Australia? Hot weather, Church, Beach cricket, far too much to eat, Carols, presents and Santa!

    • Hi Sharon! I’m glad you’re back. Hope you are doing well and everything’s ok.
      It always feels so strange when we see pictures or news stories on tv on how Christmas is celebrated in your side of the world. I mean, people swimming in the ocean with a Christmas hat on… We have to wear a warm woolen hat and gloves.. 😉
      Wishing you a great ending of the year, my dear friend! Mr. Bowie says “Meow!”

  9. And what gift did Mr. Bowie get? We can’t tell from the package. Or maybe he hasn’t opened it yet……….It’s good that you still get to have chocolate and espresso. 🙂

  10. I didn’t know this, very interesting. 🙂
    Sorry you did not receive a gift – you’ll have to speak nicely to Mr Bowie and maybe he’ll share with you 🙂

  11. We don’t put up a big Christmas tree anymore, because the 2 cats thought it was something that needed to be torn apart and taken down as quickly as possible. 🙂 Even without a tree, it’s the most wonderful time of year for playing in boxes!

    • Hi Mary! No Christmas tree either in this house, just some tiny decorations and the cards I receive.
      Wishing you a great ending of the year!

  12. What, Herman? No one gave you dark chocolate for St. Nick’s? Perhaps Santa will be far more kind at Christmas.

    As for Bowie, he’s just a special, pampered dude. That is all.

    • Well, guess I’m going to put all my money on Santa… Unfortunately, I don’t like the taste of Mr. Bowie’s treats…!!

  13. Hope your Sinterklaas went well. It was a difficult year for me and my family, and for many other people too, as far as I know. No wonder you didn’t get any gifts… Sigh… But on the other hand – have you ever been running short of chocolate? I guess never. Count your blessing, my friend 😉 Happy December to you two!

    • Thank you, Inese. It’s been a hard year too, for me, my family and some dear friends. But you are right, I never was running short of chocolate, thank goodness… 😉
      Wishing you and your family a very good ending of the year and all the best for what’s coming!

  14. Herman? You’ve been a bad boy? That might be blog worthy? Tee-hee. I sure hope Sinterklaas isn’t as sinister looking as those scary gnomes in Sweden and Finland. I saw them on our news one night! Yipes ! Glad to see young master Bowie has qualified for the goods. Hey?! Did you get a carrot Mr Bowie? Or should I say, “what’s up doc?”.

    • I got the carrot, Mr. Bowie didn’t liked it. But I’m afraid a Nespresso and carrot doesn’t match real good but I could be wrong… 🙂

  15. Pingback: 12/06 | By the Mighty Mumford

Leave a Reply

