OB-6

How to make a cat and his human happy. A big box from San Fransisco arrived yesterday. Sender: Dave Smith Instruments. Hallelujah! Dave Smith Instruments is an American company based in San Francisco, California which manufactures electronic musical instruments. Inside this box: the OB-6 Desktop, a 6-Voice Polyphonic Analog Synthesizer. The OB-6 is a once-in-a-lifetime collaboration between the two most influential designers in poly synth history, Dave Smith and Tom Oberheim. The OB-6 sound engine is inspired by Tom Oberheim’s original SEM, the core of his acclaimed 4-voice and 8- voice synthesizers.

img_8284

This is an example of an activity we both enjoy, making music and a studio technician living in a box. Our aim, as I told you before is to rock you, some day soon.

img_8289

Enjoy this beautiful day, my friends, wherever you are. Peace, love and understanding.

64 responses

  1. Tho you are speaking a language I don’t understand, the synthesizer looks complicated enough to make you happy and it’s a very attractive box for the studio technician to explore/live in. Seems that it’s all good there in your world, cool. Peace, man, and rock on!

    • Thank you so much, my dear friend! Don’t worry about the language, it’s all about the music…
      Taking a break from a studio session right now. And it seems the studio technician fell asleep right under the new synth! It’s a cold and rainy afternoon, so what else can he do?

  2. What a nice box you ordered, Mr. Bowie. And how kind of you to think of a little something for your sidekick😉 =^.^=

  3. What would cats do if there were no boxes? What would humans do without rock music? I hate to think there could ever be such a sad existence. Rock on, Herman. Box on, Mr. Bowie!

  4. Nice OB-6 and great box for Mr. Bowie! Looking forward to hearing your work, Herman! Cats and crew here send their best to you and Mr. Bowie. Enjoy some dark chocolate, espresso and cat treats today!

    • Hi Lavinia! Oh no…!! I forgot about the dark chocolate… How is that possible? Guess we were too busy with the music and the box…!!
      Mr. Bowie sends his regards to the crew out there! Hope you’re all having a wonderful Sunday…

    • Hoe jammer dat Mr. Bowie niet kan zingen! Klagen wel ja, als hij zijn avond-snoepjes niet op tijd krijgt…😉

  5. Count Sammy and me in the brigade of those waiting for the day a “Hermanized” song will rock us out of our chairs…..that new synth will help no doubt…..and with all the rest your studio tech is getting in that box – he should be ready for anything even if it’s extra loud! I shall think of you and Mr. Bowie as I dip my freshly baked (this afternoon) dark chocolate biscotti in my espresso……….now if I just had some GOOD MUSIC to listen to?????????????????

    Pam (and Sam)

    • Hi Pam! ‘Dark chocolate biscotti and espresso’… I believe those are the magic words to stop working and have a short (chocolate) break. Too late in the evening for coffee though…

    • Hi there, my friends! Thank you so much for your kind words. Mr. Bowie says “Meow!”
      You want to know a little secret? I’m only buying new stuff for the boxes…!!

  6. My cats Andy and Dougy love to be at the door when something in a box is delivered. When it contains something for them, they still prefer the box. Anyway, they say to tell Herman “Meow!” because that is one impressive box you got from America! They want one, too.

    • Hi Dough! Mr. Bowie says “Meow!” Oh yes, one more thing… he told me he’s keeping the box for himself…
      Cats and boxes, such a classic and funny story!

      • Yes, I have grown used to tossing boxes into the trash when the kitty boys aren’t looking because doing it while they watch means I have to suffer those big Bambi eyes or total disbelief and suffering. They don’t make it easy, I tell you, and I have one box in my living room that I dearly want to trash out that’s been a favorite of Dougy’s for over two years. Gad. Andy has a new favorite that’s in the kitchen, often in the way. I know he won’t “allow” me to toss that one for some time, either.

        • I can picture the scene… It is the same story overhere. I always have to be very careful when removing an old box!

  7. Pingback: OB-6 — Hands on Bowie — Продажа земельного участка, купить участок ИЖС

Leave a Reply

