Medical Check Up 2016

Doctor doctor, gimme the news. Today, I took Mr. Bowie for an annual medical check-up to Renate, his favourite and brilliant vet working at Venhei, a Veterinary Hospital. Just like last year, she performed some medical tests for Mr. Bowie’s comprehensive medical check-up concerning his ear problem. Renate ensured me that Mr. Bowie’s health is on track, just like his body weight.

IMG_8210

Due to some misunderstanding we had to wait for one hour before we could see the vet. This afternoon, Mr. Bowie had to take time to recover from the stress after this traumatic event. Thank goodness he still enjoys the car rides. Vanilla ice cream, Mr. Bowie?

Enjoy this beautiful day, my friends, wherever you are. Peace, love and understanding.

113 responses

  1. Poor Mr Bowie. An hour wait is eternity at the vet. Good to hear all is well with Mr. Bowie. He needs some ice cream, or at least some cream after all that.

    • I’m going to make sure we have a good appointment the next time. Thank goodness there were only kitties in the waiting room, and vanilla ice cream at home!

  2. Aw that is a long wait, but I’m glad that all was well – and Ice Cream!🙂 Little Monkey, my dog, was also have things checked out at the vets today! She’s also in good shape, even at 11 years!🙂

    • Thank you, Debra. I’m always a bit nervous regarding his ear condition. We were so happy with the good result!

  3. So glad to hear Mr. Bowie got a medical all clear. Mi Sun has one ear that seems to build up wax. It’s not ear mites just her chemistry I guess. I am glad it has never gotten too badly impacted but I check ofte and swab out the wax when it’s needed. She hates that but does get treats afterword. If you look at her and say “dirty ears” she runs away!! Hope you and Mr. Bowie have a lovely weekend to compensate for the long wait at the vet.

    • Thank you, Angela! I have to clean Mr. Bowie’s ear almost on a daily base. Once a week I have to wash it with a special fluid, twice a week put drops (of medication) in it. So he also gets the treats afterwards.
      Looks like Mi Sun is a very wise cat… So funny how cats seems to know what’s going to happen in the future.

      • I thought I read ear drops in that comment! I am learning Dutch from following you and Mr. Bowie. I hope Mr. Bowie is patient wfith you and knows your gentle treatment saves him from earaches and vet visits.

    • Thank you so much, my dear friend! Mr. Bowie says “Meow!”
      Chocolate sauce and blueberries for the human, a cat treat on top for Mr. Bowie…

  4. So pleased he got a good report. It must be difficult doing the ear treatments but sounds like you have it under control. Sweet dreams, Mr Bowie

    • Thank you, Jill! There are days Mr. Bowie complains when I’m treating his ear. But most of the time I can do it without any problems. Thank goodness…

  5. Always makes one feel good, when your cat passes check ups, good job Mr.Bowie. That ice cream must have tasted even better after all this ear torture. My Moshu has ear issues too, but darn she doesn’t let me touch her, She must read my mind, once I think it’s about time for her treatment, so stressful for both of us. Unfortunately she doesn’t care about ice cream unlike her “authority”

    • Thank you, Cornelia! I’m so lucky Mr. Bowie let me treat his ear (mostly) on a daily basis. But you are right, it’s stressful for the human too. That’s why we need dark chocolade and coffee…

  6. dood! total lee awsum nooze. ….. we iz buzzed happee ya getted a grate ree port
    tho waitin an hour iz like 60 minitz two long ya noe…..thatz just knot rite…..we hope
    de vet made up for it buy givin ya a pound oh perch or sum thin♥️♥️♥️

  7. Good to hear Mr. Bowie had a great checkup, Herman! Yes, he does deserve some vanilla ice cream for having to wait for an hour!

    Mr. Nano and the Cats of Salmon Brook Farms send their regards and best wishes for lots of cat treats for Mr. Bowie, and espresso and dark chocolate for you, Herman! 🙂

    • Thank you so much, Lavinia! I had vanilla ice cream with lots of blueberries. Mr. Bowie preferred a cat treat on top!
      Mr. Bowie says “Meow!” to Mr. Nano and the Cats of Salmon Brook Farms!

  8. Vanilla ice cream sounds like the purrfect reward for a visit to the vet! XOCK, Lily Olivia, Mauricio, Misty May, Giulietta, Fiona, Astrid, Lisbeth and Calista Jo

  9. MEWYAY we are so happy Mr. Bowie is in good health, he definitely deserves some vanilla ice cream! We are going to start demanding this along with the tuna we get on a return from our vet!

    -Clove & Kaspars

    • Thank you, my friends! You are so right about your demand. Let me know if I have to send an email to your human…

    • Thank you, Letizia! Mr. Bowie says “Meow!”, he’s still enjoying the warm afternoon in the garden…

  10. Happpy that Mr Bowie is in shape, but to wait an hour it is very long. But he has ice cream and a litle nap…so it is finally a good day.

    • Thank you, David! Having ice cream with two is more fun… In fact, I think I was more stressed out than Mr. Bowie. (So I had an extra portion…)

  11. Thrilled here too that Mr. Bowie got a glowing report! Ice Cream with Mr. Bowie does sound like a wonderful treat🙂 I am sure you both needed it after that wait! I am sure that extra portion made you feel MUCH better🙂

    • Thank you, my friend! Ice cream, dark chocolate and coffee can cure me from almost everything… In fact, I think I need an espresso right now!😉

  12. Oh ya! The kitty cocoon retreat is totally the Rx for all vet visits. Gotta do what a kitties gotta do. We all wish for a happy and healthy Mr Bowie❤ Ice Cream and naps are good start..Petals and Blossum don't like car rides at all, it's a real meow fest xoxox B

    • Thank you, my dear Boomdee! Ice cream solves (well, almost…) every problem in our lives! Mr. Bowie says “Meow!”

  13. Herman, I almost missed your post! I’m certainly glad Bowie’s good health is on track and that he got the rest he needed after a trip to the vet. I’m also sure that he got a treat and lots of attention from his owner for being a good boy, right?

    • Hi there, Vick! Welcome on HoB and thanks for following the blog. Much appreciated! Mr. Bowie says “Meow!”

Leave a Reply

