A.I.

Artificial Intelligence? No! Only a new Audio Interface. Mr. Bowie, a respected and world-famous studio technician, told me that the studio needed an audio upgrade. Up to now, a USB connection on the mixer was used to and from the Mac to record and play live sound. The specs promised us CD quality to and from the Mac. Well, we didn’t hear that.

IMG_7956

Mr. Bowie recommended to buy the Apollo Twin Interface from Universal Audio. With its class-leading resolution and Realtime UAD Processing, Apollo Twin sets a new standard for desktop music production. This 2×6 Mac Thunderbolt interface allows you to record with near-zero latency through the full range of UAD Powered Plug-Ins — ingeniously merging classic analog tones with cutting-edge features.

Mr. Bowie also told me he needed active studio monitors. He preferred something from Neumann because he liked the shipping boxes. The KH 120 A studio monitor is designed for use as a near-field loudspeaker. The KH 120 A represents the latest in acoustic and electronic simulation and measurement technologies to ensure the most accurate sound reproduction possible. It’s perfect for tracking, mixing and mastering in music, broadcast, project and post-production studios.

IMG_7943

One day soon, we will rock you.

53 responses

  1. The tech cat know his stuff. A.I. and active monitors are very much needed in the home studio environment. BTW I’ve started introducing people to CPX. They are a fun band, I’m always trying to get people to discover and appreciate musicians and music from other parts of the world. The reactions have be fairly positive so far.

    • Mr. Bowie is right on the spot!

      I told my friends some months ago that you were enthusiastic about the CPX. They thought it was kinda funny, in a positive way. They didn’t expected that an American would like the rather weird CPX band…

      Have a great weekend, Tim!

  2. Hey Herman, I don’t know why it’s taken me so long to think of this — but do you know about a podcast SONG EXPLODER? It’s fascinating — the songwriters take apart their music and talk about how they layered effects to create the whole vibe. Check it out? http://songexploder.net/

    • Thanks for this very interesting link. I’m going to check it out for sure, looks very promising! Much appreciated, my friend.

        • Some of my friends (and bloggers) are also musicians so once in while I’m talking in a different language especially for them… 😉
          Mr. Bowie’s having a great weekend with his 2 new boxes!

  3. We are in the process of catching up with everyone, Herman. Good to see Mr. Bowie in the mailbox!

    Rick’s mother passed away this week. Cat crew in attendance along with us.

    • Glad you are back, Lavinia. I’m so sorry for your loss. Timothy kept me informed. Wish I could help you or had the right words to take away your pain. My thoughts are with you and Rick’s family.

  4. I love when Mr. Bowie goes technical. The only disappointment is I don’t get to hear this music that’s being made. Do I have to fly to Belgium and eavesdrop over the garden wall?

    • Yeah! I know a lot of people are waiting to hear some of the stuff I’m doing. Just have a little patience, Angela. I’m going to post the first song as soon as possible in 2016 on SoundCloud. I still have to record the vocals. And I have to figure out some licensing issues.

  5. It seems like Mr.Bowie is not only your studio technician, also as well your accountant, overlooking your budget, what you could spend on new equipment. What a wise cat, that means a raise in his salary!!! Maybe some salmon treats coming along????

  6. Pingback: KH 310 A « Hands on Bowie

Leave a Reply

