Just Kids

41M-rPSHLlL Never let go of that fiery sadness called desire. It’s been so long since I read a book which moved me to tears. Just Kids, by Patti Smith, is a beautifully written memoir about a lifelong friendship of two young artists, rock singer and composer Patti Smith and photographer Robert Mapplethorpe. PattiSmithHorses Okay, one can’t argue about tastes. I can understand if someone doesn’t like the art from Robert Mapplethorpe or the music from Patti Smith. But the artwork from the album Horses was something no teenager could resist in this part of the world. And we loved the music too. I was 16 years old. I’m sure you will like this book. Give it a try…

55 responses

  1. I bet it’s a great book……and an interesting read…….big things happen when two artists become friends – no matter what their chosen field or subject matter…….so much creativity is “let loose”…..

    Pam

  2. Why I can’t say Patti Smith was one of my favorites, but she had some good tunes. On the other hand, I love Robert Mapplethorpe. He’s fantastic and I’ve drawn much inspiration from him in the past.

    • I got to know the work of Robert Mapplethorpe via Patti Smith. I learned a lot about him in this book. He was a real and dedicated artist. Love his work.

  3. Herman thank you. I loved and still love Patti Smith and I set myself a goal of finding one good biography to read each month for a year after the garden goes to sleep this fall so I’ll add your suggestion for sure.
    I was unfamiliar with Mapplethorpe until I saw the last thing he did, a portrait of C Everett Koop, the American Surgeon General who advocated for AIDS sufferers. Koop was very moved by the experience and it shows in the portrait. After that I found I loved Mapplethorpe, even the wild stuff.

    • I’m sure you will love this biography, Angela.
      Years ago, I thought Robert Mapplethorpe was only a photographer. I didn’t know anything about all his other creations. I found the photograph of C. Everett Koop, a beautiful portrait, just like you said.

  4. Your post reminded me that this book is sitting gathering dust on my bookshelf in my “to read” pile. Thanks to your wonderful review, I’m going to start reading it this weekend!

    • I had this book on my “to read”‘ list for 2 or 3 years. Patti Smith played live at a festival a few weeks ago close to where I live, but I missed the show. It got great reviews in the newspapers. So it reminded me to read this book. Hope you’ll enjoy it too, Elisa.

    • My pleasure, I think you will like this biography, Julie.

      My music adventure is going well, although I took a few days off. It was too hot in the studio (located on the south side of my house) due to the hot weather. And Mr. Bowie is/was very sick. We had to go to the veterinary hospital for examination and treatment. It seems he had an allergic reaction to something he ate outside in the garden. But he’s better now, after fasting on water for 4 days and medication…

  5. dood…manee thanx for an honest reeview…we will chex out Patti’s book…manee manee manee manee…. add one mor…manee yeerz ago…de food serviss gurl listened ta Patti Smith….her said it waz nice ta see gurls could rock two…… 🙂 ♥♥ heerz two a mackerull kinda monday ~~~

  6. Thanks so much for the recommendation Herman! I watched a Youtube documentary about Patti and she is a fascinating artist. I loved how she recounted the first time meeting Robert, broke into his flat and found herself just staring at him awakening to the morning light, with Robert smiling back at her like warm sunshine. 🙂

  7. I listened to this on audio and I didn’t care for it because Patti narrated it and her voice was just horrible and flat. 😦 I wanted to like this book so much. I can’t hold a book in my hands so I need to listen to audible. Here’s one I just listened to that was an amazing narration in addition to being a charming story. it’s about a dog though. Shsssh…don’t tell Mr. Bowie i said this! http://www.amazon.com/Art-Racing-Rain-Novel/dp/0061537969/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1439757096&sr=1-1&keywords=the+art+of+rain

  8. Thanks for the recommendation, I just came back from Helsinki and there’s a fabulous exhibition of Mapplethorpe’s photography… I really enjoyed it. Patti was heavily featured in it.

    • My pleasure, Dina. Glad you liked the exhibition of Mapplethorpe. I would love to see that…
      It seems I’m having problems with my WordPress reader. Many of the blogs I follow, like yours, disappeared…

  9. Her music takes you right back to a time and place . . . . I saw her out on the street, down on the Bowery some years ago, so Patti Smith it was hard for me to believe it was actually her and not an apparition. And how lush are RM’s gorgeous photos . . . .

    • Welcome on HoB and thanks for visiting the blog, Patti!

      Patti Smith played live at a local festival this summer and got great reviews in the press afterwards. Unfortunately, I missed her show. Shame on me!

      • My pleasure and thank you Herman! Yes, such a shame you missed the show – I always seem to find out about these things after the event then console myself that the show was sold out anyway . . . 😦
        Better luck for you next time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

