Love You Like A Rock

IMG_7491

Happy Birthday! Mr. Bowie, our hero, turns six today. I love this little man. I love him like a rock. Catnip and treats for the furry ones. Dark chocolate and espressos for the humans. Have a great day!

When I was grown to be a cat
And the Devil would call my name
I’d say “now who do …
Who do you think you’re fooling?”
I’m a consummated cat
I can snatch a little purity
My human loves me, he loves me
He gets down on his knees and hugs me
He loves me like a rock
He rocks me like the rock of ages
And he loves me

“Loves Me Like A Rock” – Paul Simon

118 responses

  1. Happy B-day Mr. B!!!! I’ll leave you with an indelible quote:
    β€œNot fooling around, not bothering nobody, just sitting here mending the Primus,” said the cat with a hostile frown, “and, moreover, I consider it my duty to warn you that the cat is an ancient, inviolable animal.”
    ― Mikhail Bulgakov, The Master and Margarita

  2. Happy Birthday, Mr Bowie! May your day have sunshine, for rolling in the catnip, and many other delights that are cat-based. Here’s to many more birthdays to come! πŸ™‚

    • Bedankt Joke! Ook een knuffel voor broer Dixie! En ook heel mooi om te zien hoe Ushi zich al aangepast heeft in haar nieuwe omgeving…

    • Thank you, Julie! Mr. Bowie says “Meow!”
      Loved the photographs in your today’s post. So beautiful…

  3. Happy Birthday Mr. Bowie. May you and Herman rock on for many,many more. I know you and he will have a great day. Celebrations are the icing on the cake of life.

  4. *she sings* Happy Birthday to you, Happy Catnip Day to you, Happy Wonderful Mr. Bowie, Happy Sixth Birthday to youuuuuuuu!!! Herman, please give your lovely boy a belly rub and chin skritch from me.

  5. Happy Birthday! I am glad to see an always wonderful photograph. Thank you very much for Mr. Bowie.

    おθͺ•η”Ÿζ—₯γŠγ‚γ§γ¨γ†β™ͺ γ€€γƒœγ‚¦γ‚€γγ‚“

  6. Happy Birthday Mr Bowie! πŸ™‚
    Only 6 years old, still a young kitten then! But you must have an old soul, judging by the expression in your eyes! πŸ™‚

    • Thank you, my friend. The expression in Mr. Bowie’s eyes is also a sign of his wisdom… πŸ˜‰

  7. HAPPY BIRTHDAY MR. BOWIE! Six years old – you’re just a young guy and lovin’ life with Herman in your beautiful home and garden…..you’re both lucky to have each other. AND, we’re lucky to be spending your birthday with you!! My Mom says “thanks for the espresso and dark chocolate” – that’s her breakfast…….as for me……I’m just happy to be here with you to celebrate.

    Hugs, Sammy

    • Hi there, my dear Sammy! Thank you so much for the birthday wishes! Glad your Mom had a very delicious breakfast. It’s the breakfast for champions…
      Mr. Bowie says “Meow!”

  8. Is that really a song? or the catnip version of one?

    I never listen to popular music so you could easily fool me.

    Mr. Bowie is just the finest sleek gray lad there!

    • It’s a catnip version of an original Paul Simon song from 1973. You can listen to it on YouTube. Feel free to check it out, I like the song.

  9. Happy Birthday Mr. Bowie! May your day be filled with catnip and all things you love! πŸ™‚ The Cats of Salmon Brook Farms send their birthday wishes to Mr. Bowie, the Great Grey Hunter. Mr. Nano the Great White Hunter requests his assistance finding the gopher who ate all the tulips!

    • Thank you so much for all the wishes, Lavinia! Mr. Bowie says “Meow!”
      So sorry to read about your tulips…!! I think Mr. Nano and Mr. Bowie would be a great team to go after that gopher…

  10. Happy Birthday to the most beautiful boy, Mr. Bowie!! We love seeing you and getting to know your little ways through Herman. You know Mr. Bowie, when I saw the title of this post I immediately thought of that song….and low and behold Herman posted the lyrics! I hope you have a great day Mr. Bowie. :))))

  11. Happy Birthday to the best cat around! Thank you Mr. Bowie for your big cheeks, serious expressions, beautiful eyes, and overall cuteness. I hope you receive a lot of gifts today!

    • Thank you so much, Letizia! Mr. Bowie says “Meow!”
      There are cat treats all over the place. I think Mr. Bowie is in heaven…

    • Thank you very much, Ellie! Mr. Bowie says “Meow!” to Boba and Kobi… and the humans of the house!

    • Thank you so much, Jennifer! Mr. Bowie says “Meow!”
      Can you sing that song one more time, please…??

    • Thank you so much, Gin! What a beautiful and sweet cat… Oh yes, we want a hug!! Right now…!!
      Mr. Bowie says “Meow!”

  12. Belated wishes to cats with cute dishes πŸ˜€ I remember listening to that Paul Simon song as a teen, we were playing Scrabble outside on a blanket on the lawn on a warm summer day. We thought we were so cool then, with a little radio….ha! Simple times and simple pleasures is my wish for you this year Mr Bowie! xo K

Leave a Reply

