Newsflash #8

IMG_7343

We had something to celebrate today. Dad is one of the oldest inhabitants of the village. Some local officials, dressed in traditional folkloric costumes, payed tribute to him this Sunday afternoon. This is a regular annual tradition. Many happy returns!

Next Wednesday, my Dad turns 90. There will be a Birthday Party with Birthday cake, Belgian soft-centre pralines, and other delicious stuff!

IMG_7329IMG_7340

Frederik, the oldest great-grandchild in my family, asked if he could try out the special headgear of the local Prince. I think Mr. Bowie would love the feather on top of it…

IMG_7324

97 responses

  1. I remember this celebration from years passed…..I think it’s really lovely and has to be really fun for your Dad to be the eldest in the village…..he looks GREAT and happy and that’s what it’s all about! The headgear is impressive indeed! I hope your Dad’s birthday celebration next week is absolutely PERFECT in every way.

    Pam (and Sam)

    • Thank you so much for this heartwarming comment, Amy. Much appreciated.
      Cherish all the good and lovely memories of your Dad.

  2. Please give my Happy Birthday wishes to your father. Your picture really captures the twinkle in his eye. I’ll bet he’s the life of the party, as well as the reason for it.

    • Dank je wel! Hij staat er echt goed op, vooral de eerste foto straalt hij precies…
      Vorig jaar leek hij een beetje triest te zijn…

        • Dank je wel! Dit jaar genoot hij er meer van. Maar hij was ook blij dat ze weer weg waren. 😉 Heel het appartement zat ook vol.
          Woensdag is er zijn verjaardagsfeest. Maar dat is verspreid over heel de namiddag en zal (hopelijk) niet zo overrompelend en druk zijn…

    • Thank you for this link, my dear Boomdee. I’m going to show all these comments to my Dad tomorrow. I’m sure he’ll be impressed…

  3. I’m always impressed by your father. He looks great for his age! And Frederik looks wonderful with the traditional hat – he should wear it to school!

  4. What a wonderful tribute to a fine gentleman! I remember this from other years, but I don’t think you mentioned Belgian pralines before……..sounds like some good stuff for a good celebration. Happy Birthday to your dad, and he looks great!

  5. I can’t wait to see photos of the birthday event. Happy 90th birthday to your dad. He’s had a wonderfully long life and is well-deserving of a tribute.

    • Thank you, Mary J!
      I’ll probably post about the birthday party on Wednesday evening or on Thursday.

  6. I wish you joy and many things shared with your delightful looking Dad for years to come.
    I lost my Dad in 1952 and cannot imagine what we missed.
    A joyous, belated Happy Birthday to your Dad. I can almost taste the pralines, incidentally.

    • Thank you very much for this kind and heartwarming comment. Much appreciated, Ettel! Wish I could sent you some delicious pralines…
      So sorry to read about your Dad.

    • Thank you, Lavinia!
      I just enjoyed reading your latest post, the newsletter for March 2015. Guess Mr. Bowie preferred the cat crew part… Thanks!

  7. What a wonderful age to celebrate, I am sure there will be some extra treats in for Mr.Bowie. My aunt in Germany, my father’s twin sister just turned 103 years, I went to her 100 birthday, which was a blast. So, many more happy years to your dad.

Leave a Reply

