25 responses

  1. Great photo! Contador is one of the few pro cycles I recognize these days. I used to know who all the big names were. We saw Miguel Indurain in person in his last Vuelta a España in 1996. We were watching the coverage of the Vuelta when he stopped, took off his number, and retired from racing.

    • Thanks, Timothy! I remember that moment of the last Vuelta of Miguel Indurain too… He was a great rider!
      The guy in the photograph wore a jersey with Contador’s name on it. But I don’t think it was El Pistolero… 😉

  2. Very nice Herman, great balance and contrast. My grandfather introduced me to bicycle racing when it was all but unknown in the US. He had a crew of Italians that worked for him and they introduced him to it. i remember Indurain, too, but like Timothy there are not to many i recognize these days.

    • Thank you, Angela! Bicycle racing and football/soccer are the most popular sports over here. I played football when I was a kid but started mountain biking when I was an adult…

  3. Did your human just happen to come across Alberto training or was it a tour and he was the leader? We can’t imagine he’d be the train. Whatever the case, Mom is jealous. XOCK, Lily Olivia Mauricio, Misty May, Giulietta, Fiona, Astrid, Lisbeth and Calista Jo

    • No, my friends, I didn’t came across Alberto. I went out that morning to take photographs in the mist. But the mist was gone and suddenly that guy appeared out of the nowhere… He said he was Contador, though…

    • Thank you! No doubt about that, it wasn’t Contador…
      Yes, we got lovely roads for cycling and also great bicycle races…

  4. nothing more positive than a bicycle. (except Mr Bowie’s face)
    Every time I see an adult on a bicycle, I no longer despair for the future of the human race.
    H. G. Wells.
    Great photograph.

  5. Well, Mr Contador is a bit rude….LOL.

    Estar atento ! Boomdee tiene una cesta en mi bicicleta! Puedo llevar el vino y el pan donde quiera que vaya . Usted acaba de ir más rápido sin vino o pan. Usted es un hombre insensato .

Leave a Reply

