Something Within Us

Everything that has a beginning has an ending. Looks like my 3 week summer vacation is over today. Spending quality time with my family, friends and Mr. Bowie. I’m totally depressed! How can I overcome this post vacation blues? Why must all good things come to an end? Okay, all things come to an end eventually, not just the good ones. Wait a minute, I got to realise that my vacation doesn’t necessarily end here. There will always be some good times ahead.

IMG_6122

Learn and appreciate what you have. Let go of guilt, pride, negativity and perfectionism. Move on. Remember, happiness is not something you postpone for the future. It’s something about the here and now. It’s something within us. Am I right, Mr. Bowie?

49 responses

  1. Onze Bowie is akkoord met alles wat je zegt en kijk uit naar je komende vrijdagen zoals Joke zegt, ze neemt de woorden uit mijn mond!

  2. Wise words Herman…..we know not how many tomorrows we will have so we should enjoy every single moment. Hope your vacation was full of fun – now make tomorrow the same!

    Hugs, Pam

  3. Wow this three weeks has brought out your inner sage! How wonderful! Enjoy your espresso and hold this feeling in a little place inside you so you can take it with you tomorrow 🙂

  4. Mr Bowie will give that some thought and get back to you! Can’t believe your vacation is already at an end. Will you still have your 4 day work week?

  5. We can learn from our cats. I learn patience, for example, because I have to have it each morning when I “hunt” my Persian cat Andy down to give him his daily medicine! (He is quite clever…!)

  6. Very wise words. Today is always a gift, that’s why it’s called the present! And there’s always weekends……and chocolate, and espresso, and that wonderful cat!

  7. I am very happy right now to see another lovely photo of Bowie and to have my two furry ones. Sorry about your vacation ending, Herman. I hope work is not too tough your first day back.

    • Thanks for your support, Mary J.
      Let’s hope there’ll be lots of chocolate and fresh coffee, tomorrow…

  8. Such a great photo today Herman. Mr Bowie’s looking right at us 😀 so I winked back.

    I do get a bit of a holiday backlash of blues too. I prepare by taking lots of photo’s at the time so I can have a nice glass of wine and look thru them later. Dr Seuss recommends this

  9. Getting spoiled by vacation can be a little hard to overcome. Your outlook is wise, being philosophical, getting an espresso and remembering every Friday is a vacation. Mr. Bowie looks every bit the wise guru, keeping you on the good path.

Leave a Reply

