Finn

IMG_5715

Dizzy Heights. Neil Finn is a New Zealand musician. Along with his brother Tim Finn, he was the co-frontman for Split Enz and is still the frontman for Crowded House. He has also recorded several successful solo albums and I tend to like his solo stuff better than his work with Crowded House and Split Enz. I’ve seen him performing live three times now. Neil Finn will play the Cirque Royal in Brussels on Sunday 11th May.

Neil Finn’s third solo album “Dizzy Heights” was released in February 2014. I bought it last week. Mr. Bowie is checking it out right now. I like Dizzy Heights. I like the orchestral booms and crashes, the lovely psychedelic soul, the falsetto and the experiment with new sounds and production techniques. I like Neil Finn. And I think I like New Zealand.

38 responses

  1. Love Split Enz, Crowded House and the Finn Brothers. Excited to hear that Neil has a new solo album out. Will have to get it. You would love New Zealand! I loved it when I got the chance to live there. Saw the Split Enz live reunion show even!
    Marty’s Mom

  2. I used to listen to Crowded House (I wonder if I still have a CD around, will have to search for it). Will check out Finn’s solo work. Thanks for the recommendation. Mr. Bowie seems to like it.

    • I missed a Split Enz show due to a misunderstanding in those days… But I saw Crowded House, The Finn Brothers and Neil Finn himself. Love the music.

    • I am a D.J., I am what I play
      Can’t turn around no, can’t turn around, no, oh no

      I am a D.J., I am what I play
      I got believers (kiss-kiss)
      Believing me, oh

  3. OMGosh, I’m so envious. I love the Finn Brothers and all the Crowded House Music. This is one of my favourite songs on my IPod, it’s a tribute album to their music and Sara Storer is also an Aussie

    • Hey Boomdee, thanks for this info. I’m going to check out this album. Love this song, it’s one of my favourite Finn Brothers songs.

  4. My pub saw Split Enz in concert a million years ago. We actually stopped by to thank you for recommending “Broken Circle Breakdown.” Had not heard of it until I read it here. MAD found it around us, which was no easy feat. We saw it Saturday night and agree, it is one of the best, deepest, fun, saddest, sweetest movies. MAD knew all about Bill Munroe. We all loved the music. MAD said soundtrack is available. πŸ™‚ In a way, it reminded us of Once, Thanks again for the recommendations, xo, LMA

    • Thank you for this warm comment, Louisa M.A. Appreciated! I’m so glad you liked “The Broken Circle Breakdown”. I was blown away by the movie. Got the soundtrack too.

  5. I can’t believe the love and musical banter happening here. It’s fantastic. You know most Aussies will try to claim Crowded House as Australian. Haha. Neil Finn also did a great tour last year with Australian legend Paul Kelly. I caught their concert at the Sydney Opera House- sharing songs and really enjoying themselves. There is a recording availablehttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K_Us3H72U4Q
    Neil is possibly the greatest songwriter in popular music. Regards Peet

Leave a Reply

