Woodwork Squeaks

And out come the freaks. I heard the old Was (not Was) song, “Out Come the Freaks” on the radio today. Was (not Was) is an American eclectic pop group founded by David Weiss (a.k.a. David Was) and Don Fagenson (a.k.a. Don Was). They were very popular in the 1980s and early 1990s. I also liked the single “Walk the Dinosaur”. Guess I’m going to visit the iTunes Store because I can’t find a Was (not Was) cd in my collection.

IMG_5580

Mr. Bowie and I often wake up from loud bangs caused by the wood structure of the roof. The next time I’ll sing myself back to sleep with the “Out Come the Freaks” song.

28 responses

  1. I had not heard either of those songs until today. I see that “Out Come the Freaks” came out in 1981. I guess I was too wrapped up in art photography at the university to notice. It has a catchy tune, and the “Walk the Dinosaur” video is pretty good, as well. Both would be good for drowning out noisy wooden roofs.

  2. So Mr. Bowie sleeps at night and not up prowling half the night? MaChatte often goes looking for/chasing IT at night. I don’t know what IT is, cos I’ve never seen IT, but it must be here…somewhere……..

  3. Mr. B., We don’t know those songs or artists. But our pawrents don’t listen to much that came after the sixties and very early 70s; though, our mom likes Pink, and some people think she’s a bit of a freak. Purrs and paw-pats, Lily Olivia, Mauricio, Misty May, Giulietta, Fiona, Astrid, Lisbeth and Calista Jo

  4. We had a post and beam home at the lake and the interior was also pine. It’s a bit freaky to hear the odd creak at night. Blossum sleeps most things, but Petals is on high alert at all times. She’d and Mr Bowie could take turns with the night watch.

  5. I have never heard of that song or the two Was guys. Too busy listening to BonJovi, White Snake, Ratt in the 80’s…any band with lots of hair. On another note, Bowie is a beautiful boy and you never fail to capture that with your camera.

  6. Ahhhh 80’s flashback! Mr. Bowie looks very nice against the honey color of the wood. I have a lot of wood in my old house and with the dryness and the temp changes here there is a lot of creaking and popping too.
    Marty’s mom

  7. lol, does Mr B approve of u’r taste in music? don’t judge us humans, if u cats can dance (i know Bowie does), then u’ll understand. btw, was “OCTFs” pre or post Blondie’s “Rapture”?

    • Mr. Bowie doesn’t care much about my taste in music…
      “OCTF” and “Rapture” were both released in 1981. You could find me on the dancing floor in those days…

Leave a Reply

