It Must Have Been Years

Geographical advantage. A two hour drive can take me to France, Germany, the Netherlands, Luxembourg and England (with the Eurostar high-speed railway). But I never want to leave the house. It’s a dangerous world out there.
We drove to the Netherlands yesterday. I had to go to a birthday party. It was fun.

IMG_0847

Agoraphobia is a condition where the sufferer becomes anxious in environments that are unfamiliar or where he or she perceives that they have little control.

IMG_0842

47 responses

  1. You are sooo lucky, Belgium is a great location – I was there last year. Some of us in Australia travel up to 2 hours and that’s just to get to work! Agoraphobia not so good – my late mother had it for nearly two years, then rang me one day to say she had cured herself and was fine after that.

  2. En was Bowie niet “invited” voor het verjaardagsfeestje? Btw mooie foto’s en wel iets speciaals die geluidsdempende muur!

    • De overheidsarchitectuur is in Nederland meestal wel heel mooi en verrassend.
      Bowie was er niet bij omdat hij teveel aandacht zou wegnemen van de jarige…

  3. Gosh, I’d drive anywhere for ice cream with chocolate sauce…. πŸ˜€ Seriously though it looks like a beautiful day for a drive to a party or anywhere. Glad you were able to do it. No doubt Bowie missed you and vice versa.

    Pam

  4. Out here in the wild west, a two hour drive will often get you to the middle of nowhere. But then a one to three hour drive can get me to Santa Fe, Los Alamos, Roswell, Truth or Consequences, and the Four Corners where I can stand on the borders of New Mexico, Colorado, Arizona and Utah all at once. I can get to the border with Mexico in 3 hours if I drive south at 100 mph all the way, but Mexico is a dangerous county, so it’s not worth risking a speeding ticket to risk my life in Mexico.

    • This sounds like a road movie! Unfortunately, I’m also suffering from aerophobia (fear of flying) but I would love to visit the area where you live, especially Roswell! πŸ˜‰

    • I remember driving from Antwerp to Paris on a Saturday morning for tea… That was real decadent (but fun)!

  5. You’re so lucky to be a short drive from so many places on my bucket list, although it doesn’t leave enough time for Bowie to have a party while you’re gone.

  6. Oh, wow!!! A two hour drive is all you need to get to those lovely places?? In Texas, a two-hour drive gets you…nowhere. Hell, an 8-hour drive barely gets you to another state. 😦 Let’s switch!

    • Welcome on HoB Leilani!
      I think an 8-hour drive in Texas is like living in a long American road movie! I would love that! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

