Light Food

FLUTD. Mr. Bowie is on a complete, balanced diet with high quality and highly digestible ingredients that meet the nutrient requirements of adult cats. The diet has a moderate energy content, which helps maintain the cat’s ideal body weight. The diet has a reduced content of magnesium and phosphorus (components of struvite crystals) for reduction of recurrence of struvite crystals and stones. Jones, my Mother’s cat, was also on this diet for more than 10 years.

FLUTD (Feline Lower Urinary Tract Disease) is a complex disease of the lower urinary tract often associated with crystal formation which can be very painful for your cat. Struvite and calcium phosphate are two most common types of crystals that form in the urinary tract of cats.

IMG_2427

Can I have some food, please?

 

Specific Cat FCD Crystal Prevention is a complete therapeutic diet food from Dechra. It was developed in collaboration with vets and veterinary nutrition experts. It can help reduce the recurrence of crystals and struvite stones in cats. It is very tasty and is specifically formulated to help prevent urinary stone disease. It produces a reduced magnesium and phosphorus content and low pH value (6.0 to 6.3) in your pet’s urine which helps to reduce the formation of urinary stones.

32 responses

  1. My tabby, Mortichi, developed struvite crystals during the time we lived in Germany due to the high mineral content in the water. He had to have surgery to resolve the problem. Later he was prescribed a medication high in fish oil with a Vaseline base. Mortichi did not like the taste and would fling it from his paw to the walls. Not fun. I finally figured out that he loved plain Vaseline and the combination of Vaseline and bottled water kept him free of the crystals the remainder of his life.

    • Thanks for this info, Sheri. Bowie always liked tap water, I tried to give him bottled water but he didn’t liked it. He also likes to drink from a dirty pool of rain water…

  2. My dear Néo, eats only… “20 grammes” ( = 1 ounce, if I found the good translation in my dictionnary) three times a day, by veterinary order…
    So Néo always asks to me “Give me again, please!” (He’s very polite to us!)
    Mais je retourne la boîte vide… and I tell him: ” For us… no more chocolate… we want to go to the swimmingpool next june! Make an effort too!”
    I know… Néo won’t go to the swimmingpool but… il faut bien lui résister!

    • Bowie gets 65 g diet food a day, also by veterinary order.
      I get 75 g of chocolate each day, and sometimes a little more. But I’m not going to a swimming pool next June…

  3. Bod sends some sympathetic meows. He too has FLUTD and has to stick to a diet, which he finds far less interesting than his brother’s food.
    I’d get bored eating the same flavour all the time too, but, it’s better for him than the time he had to be catheterized. 😦

    • I guess I’m lucky because Bowie really likes his diet food. I can imagine it’s difficult when you got 2 cats and one of them is on a diet…
      I wonder if I would get tired of eating always the same chocolate for the rest of my life…

  4. Great to hear that Herman. We had issues 15 years ago with one of our cats and they’ve all since been on special diets to prevent it. Much worse for boy cats so Mr Bowie is thankfully safe.

    • Jones was also on this diet for many years. Bowie started eating it 2 years ago after showing symptoms of Feline Lower Urinary Tract Disease. But my little friend is okay now and once in a while he gets a special treat!

  5. Dear Bowie, I just went through this! My mom had to take me to the Vet several times and she kept mumbling something about me getting a ‘job’. Do you know what that is? Anyway, now both Dylan and I are eating something called a ‘special diet’. Mom has to buy it from the Vet. We get CANNED food AND kibble. I am in HEAVEN. It tastes pretty good… We are both looking pretty spiffy. Mom says I am a pain in (I can’t remember exactly what she said) but it was after I jumped on her desk and knocked things off.

    BYE FOR NOW! Your BCFFA (bestcatfriendfromafar) Bagheera

    • Hi there Bagheera! My dad also has to buy my ‘special’ food from the vet and boy, am I lucky that it’s yummy food! I wish I could have some more…
      About that pain… I think your mom was just joking around, kinda…

      Please say hello to Dylan!

  6. Hope this food does the trick. One of our past brothers had this problem and had to take a pill every day for years and years. This sounds like a much better solution. Hope the food is yummy. Purrs and hugs from the kitties at http://www.thecatonmyhead.com, Lily Olivia, Mauricio, Misty May, Giulietta, Fiona, Astrid, Lisbeth and Calista Josette

    • Hi Janet, Bowie (and Jones) liked this special food from day one, so I guess it must be yummy. He’s eating it for 2 years now and he’s always very healthy…

  7. Oh poor Mr. Bowie. Ms. Yum Yum is also on a similar diet after coming down with some major bladder stones while still eating a very high quality food. I am noting this brand as Yum Yum is still unsure of the taste of her current kibble. Thanks for sharing!

    • My pleasure Belle. I was very lucky that Mr. Bowie (and Jones) immediately liked their new diet food. But I have to admit, once in a while Mr. Bowie gets a little cat treat…

  8. Mr. Bowie is blessed with a family of several generations who understand cat metabolism. I think kidney problems were one reason our Tippie Cat passed away after 17 1/2 years. AS FOR CHOCOLATE…(!)…please consult the recent poetry of my friend Ron Dudour at OUR POETRY CORNER, for one potential fate you DON’T want to occur!

  9. Hi–I just discovered your blog when the icon of Mr. Bowie showed up in the “likes” of Elena Caravella’s recent post. This blog is just adorable, & fun, & even spreads the word about cat health & diet. I could have gone through all your posts & liked every one of them if I had time! I will be back!

Leave a Reply

