Saying Farewell to a Home

A tearful goodbye to a house. Today I said goodbye to a home. This is the last time I’ll see the house as it has been for decades. This house holds so many feelings. It’s my parents’ house.

Today I walked around with my camera and documented each room that I remember so well, each of my favorite spots to go as a child, and then as a teenager, and now as an adult. I greeted each memory one last time.

Goodbye and good luck. It’s time to move on. Thank you for all the memories.

60 responses

  1. I can imagine it’s hard to do that with a home you grew up in. With my Dad in the military we moved every couple of years and I never formed a real “attachment” to one place for long…..but I can imagine it’s a bit like losing a good friend. Lovely home…..has someone bought it and doing a renovation?

    Pam

  2. Ouch…it is hard to see your home demolished. My father put off selling my grandmother’s home because he knew it really wasn’t in live-in condition (my grandmother had been in a nursing home for years). Luckily some people added on…it doesn’t look the same, but at least part of it is still there…

    • You know all your life that things like this will happen. We don’t like it but you can’t avoid it. You got to move on…

  3. I’ll go and take pictures like that soon. My mother is in a nursing home and we’re getting the house ready for sale in a few months. It won’t be torn down, but it is a distance away from where I live and I won’t go back after it’s sold. This is a very special house to us tho: my parents and I built it when I was 12. I helped put the shingles on the roof and insulated my own bedroom, etc. Very sad to part with such good old memories. Best wishes to you.

    • Thank you. I’m not going back either. I’m going to cherish all the warm memories and pictures. Growing old is also letting things go, like the house were you grew up…

    • Oh yes it is. We’re all so happy that our Dad’s still around and living on is own. He’s also very happy in his new apartment.

  4. That’s a great looking house, I love the little arched door and multi-paned window. I can imagine it’s bittersweet. Hope a new family will show it some love and you don’t have to worry for your dad alone there.

  5. You and I seem to be living similar lives! The lease is up on my apartment building soon and I’m going to lose my fabulous loft. It’s horrible being uprooted, hope your new place is nice 😀

  6. Knowing it will be demolished is painful, but it may also be a relief to know that no one else will erase your life there with their own. It will always be yours, and full of your memories. I did not miss the house I grew up in when I signed it over while my mother was in personal care, but oddly enough, disconnecting the phone number I’d grown up with and where I called “home” for decades was almost too much. Thinking of you.

    • You touched me with your comment Bernadette. It will be painful when the house is demolished next year. But thinking about your words, it would be much stranger if someone else moved in. I didn’t looked at it this way.
      Your reply means a lot to me. Thank you very much.

  7. Memories will always stay in your heart. I still remember all the fun times at my grandparents’ place in northern Minnesota. It was so neat and the new owners just let it go to waste. However, nobody can take away the memories I’ve stored in my mind and heart. – Hemingway and Shakespeare’s Mom

    • Thank you for this heartwarming comment. You’re so right, nobody can take away my memories.
      Please give my regards to your wonderful boys! Bowie says “Meow!”

  8. The home I grew up in still stands, a miracle it has not been torn down for a grander, larger home as it is in Santa Cruz, Calif, lots of Silicon Valley high tech millionaires live in that once small town now. I have a photo of the house my Dad was born in…in 1910, in Brownwood Texas. Standing in the middle of a wheat field, and the next year, it was gone. So happy to have that photo, not sure what to do with it as I have no kids nor know my own family anymore, but, it is my memory. Hugs, Savannah and Mom Linda

    • Thank you very much for this beautiful comment Linda. This is so nice of you, I appreciate this a lot.
      Today, I posted 2 pictures of my Dad back in 1945…

  9. Just had a similar experience today, while burying our Tippie Cat, who lasted 17 years and 6 months. Buried him on the edge of a field, at woods’ edge, that used to be my family’s land. My wife and I bought it, had to sell it—technically one shouldn’t bury cats on property the bank owns, but my cousin next door was witness! The cottage was demolished but I still miss the woods!

Leave a Reply

