Mother

There is a door we all walk through.
And on the other side I’ll meet you.

(“Doo-Wop in Harlem” – Prefab Sprout)

Today is my mother’s birthday. She would have turned 85 today. My mother passed away in June 2001. There’s not a day that goes by that I don’t think about her. There isn’t a day I don’t miss her.

The cat in this photo is Jones. She was my mother’s favorite cat, they were always together. Jones passed away in July this year.  Sometimes I like to believe that they are back together on the other side.

Happy Birthday Mom, wherever you are.

58 responses

    • You made me feel good today Mark. Thank you very much for your comments and your ‘Never Gone Forever’ post on the vibes.

  1. Pingback: Never Gone Forever « the vibes

  2. I know that longing and I’m sorry you had to say goodbye to your mom. Is the photo on the porch of the house your dad just moved from? I like to think my dad is there looking out for me, showing me the way. Wouldn’t it be awesome to see our loved pets again. Thanks for sharing your special day, sending warm wishes your way.

    • You got an eye for detail my dear B. You’re right, the photo was shot on the porch of my parents house.
      Thank you for the warm wishes on this cold and grey day.

  3. Ik weet zeker dat er over jou en je familie gewaakt wordt…
    Probeer van deze dag een mooie dag te maken door warme herinneringen boven te halen.

  4. I think I know how it is…my Mom died 10/10/1990. But her cat was adopted by my brother, who hasn’t spoken to us for a long time, So Tobermory went on? Still have my problems every once in a while around October 10th.

    • Eigenlijk als ik daar nu aan terugdenk was het wel grappig dat die twee altijd samen waren, ofschoon Jones eigenlijk mijn kat was…

  5. Wat een mooie foto, wat een mooie vrouw was jullie moeder, en Jones een prachtige kat.
    Ik ben er zeker van dat jullie hele mooie herinneringen hebben en geniet daar van.

    • Dank je wel Wiske, Moetie was een fantastische vrouw. Waarschijnlijk zal dat de reden zijn dat ik nooit getrouwd ben… 😉

  6. My parents are both gone but I feel them in my heart and life daily and I do think that we’ll be together again one day. I know how hard the “anniversaries” are though. What a lovely photo of your Mom and Jones…..memories keep us warm.

    Hugs, Pam

    • Thank you very much for your heartwarming words and thoughts Pam. We got so many happy memories of my mother and my brother. It keeps us going…

  7. It was so strange to open this post at the exact moment I was feeling very emotional and thinking about the same things. Quite comforting really, to think that we all feel the same joy and pain for our loved ones. Herman, I think the sun is shining for them wherever they are 🙂

    • Thank you very much for your comment and wishes my dear Madame Weebles. I always appreciate and enjoy your thoughts.
      You are so right, my mother was such a wonderful lady. I miss her every day.

  8. Herman, it is a lovely photo — she and Jones sharing a moment…now they are sharing eternity. I feel for you…I lost my Dad just before Christmas (it will be two years soon), but I truly believe he in a better place watching over us.

  9. I came home from Sunday school and told my mum I was upset because they said animals didn’t go to heaven. My Mum who up until then never voiced an opinion on anything said “well no one has been to heaven and then come back with a report so what they are saying is only an opinion and not a truth” I asked my Mum if she thought animals went to heaven and she said she did.
    Personally I don’t think any kind of afterlife would have much going for it without animals. Especially my animals.

    • Welcome on HoB!
      Thank you for your nice comment. I think exactly the same way you do, an afterlife without animals would be very strange…

  10. Jones had been with you many years, to comfort you. She must have missed your Mother, and they are together again. Animals live in Heaven, there is plenty of space in Eternity. Those who love each other stay together, no matter either they are animals or humans.

Leave a Reply

