Space Oddity

Ground Control to Major Tom
Ground Control to Major Tom
Your circuit’s dead, there’s something wrong
I can only hear cats sing along

Can you hear me, Major Tom?
Can you hear me, Major Tom?
Can you …

 

I was introduced by my cousin to Bowie’s music (the singer, not the cat) with his single “Space Oddity”. No, not in 1969, I’m not that old. I became further intrigued with Bowie after seeing him live on TV during the glam rock era with the flamboyant, androgynous alter ego Ziggy Stardust. The Berlin trilogy (Low, “Heroes” & Lodger) is my favorite period of Bowie’s work.

And as said before… Bowie (the cat, not the singer) was named after the great Lester Bowie (11 October 1941–8 November 1999), an American jazz trumpet player and composer.

6 responses

    • Actually, I am almost ‘that’ old Bernadette. And no, there’s nothing wrong with getting older. Never had a problem with that. On the contrary, I wouldn’t go back in time if I had a time machine. Though, I would like to see my childhood cats again…

      • I’m only kidding–a bunch of us the same age were talking about the music we grew up with and what our parents thought about it and we wondered if we were, at this age, like what we imagined 50-year-olds to be like. It was a good laugh. I wouldn’t go back, either.

  1. Pingback: Jazz Friday at Café Literario | The Bard of Steel

Leave a Reply

